Mediterranean Pasta Toss

I sincerely apologize for not posting very much in the last week! It’s currently finals week and we all know that that typically means late nights, unhealthy food, and coffee. I’m pretty sure that it’s common knowledge that calories don’t count during finals week and that cardio becomes a foreign language. But in celebration of finishing my first of two finals, I decided to cook myself a delicious meal that I have actually made once before. I was obsessed the first time that I made it and thought since it was so easy, that I should make it again and share it with all of you!

The Mediterranean Pasta Toss combines a good portion of my favorite things into one meal that is very simple to make and tends to be a crowd-pleaser. One of the best things about this meal is that the vegetables can also be substituted for practically any other vegetable and you could add chicken and it was taste superb! The first time I made it, I followed the instructions perfectly – I had everything on the list of ingredients except the artichoke hearts (which I later realized is apparently kept in the freezer section of grocery stores, who knew?! ) but they really weren’t missed. This time, I was scrambling to find time to make this one, so I used what few things that I had available in such a small time window, which ended up being shredded carrots, onions, and a few cherry tomatoes.

First you saute you vegetables until they are fully cooked

CAM00579Once they are cooked, add the sun-dried tomatoes (including the sauce they are in in the jar)

CAM00580Once that has cooked for a minute or so, add 1/3 cup of balsamic vinegar

CAM00583 CAM00587Continue cooking and stirring ALL while cooking the pasta at the same time (I used whole wheat penne pasta)

CAM00588Once the pasta and the vegetable sauce mixture is done, (if timed correctly, they should be done at the same time), then you drain the pasta and combine the two like so

CAM00592 CAM00594

And finally add the optional (but highly recommended) feta
CAM00596Then it’s done and ready to serve!

Mine was delicious! I had probably a little more than I should have (calories don’t count remember?) but it was so worth it!

RATING:

Time Suggested: 25 minutes

Time Actual: 30-35 minutes

Ease/Difficulty: Easy

Monetary Value:1 star

Taste:  5 stars

Original Recipe: http://www.skinnymom.com/2013/04/23/skinny-mediterranean-pasta-toss/?_szp=344901

Leave a Reply

