Paleasagna (Paleo Lasagna)

Paleo this and paleo that. That’s all that’s been on Pinterest lately and I haven’t known exactly what to make of it all until today. I decided to make a paleo lasagna this evening for dinner and it was scrumptious (yes, I said scrumptious!). As per paleo dieting, the ingredients used were only ones that cave-men had access to (essentially nothing artificial or with preservatives, etc). It was a great use of vegetables!

CAM00510 CAM00511First you slice up your zucchini in very thin slices like the picture above. Then you set them aside and dice an onion (I used half of one and it was verging on a lot). Also, the original recipe says to use 1 lb of Zucchini, in case you don’t know what that means by looking at them (like me), it’s NOT 6 zucchini! That’s how much I bought and sliced. Looks like there will be another zucchini recipe coming soon to finish them up! I would suggest maybe 2-3 small ones for this recipe.

Once you have diced your onion, you add some oil to a saucepan and cook together until the onions are cooked. Then you add a can of diced tomatoes and 3 Tbs of tomato paste (I used pasta sauce… worked just fine) and continue cooking.

CAM00512

While that’s cooking, preheat your oven to 375 and mix together chopped broccoli, 2 cups of greek yogurt, and an egg. I used NF greek yogurt and it was perfectly fine. I also used frozen chopped broccoli and I recommend NOT doing that. USE REGULAR BROCCOLI otherwise your dish will be slightly soupy at the end… woops, learned that one the hard way! 🙂

CAM00513Once the mixture is done, the sauce is cooked, and the oven is preheating, you may now begin assembling your “lasagna.” Zucchini layer, sauce layer, broccoli-yogurt layer, and repeat.

CAM00515Once you have filled the dish, top the entire thing with cheese. I used shredded Parmesan, but I would recommend maybe shredded mozzarella for future endeavors. I also used about a cup – 3/4 cup of cheese to get a good cover over it like so –

CAM00516Then you bake for 45-60 minutes at 375.

CAM00517 CAM00518CAM00519Then ta da! It’s done! And delicious!

Like I said before, I used frozen broccoli so mine turned out to be a bit soupier than I would have liked and not exactly as cheesey as I had hoped, but it was still delicious. I made enough to have leftovers for lunch tomorrow and I cannot wait!

RATING:

Time Suggested: 1 hour 1o minutes

Time Actual: 1 hour 30 minutes

Ease/Difficulty: Easy

Monetary Value:1 star

Taste:  4 stars

Original Recipe: http://www.whatrunslori.com/2011/12/paleasagna/

One response to “Paleasagna (Paleo Lasagna)

Leave a Reply

