Spaghetti Squash Alfredo

In an attempt to redeem myself from the other day’s mishap in trying to go healthy, today I chose to make “Skinny” Spaghetti Squash Alfredo.  I found the pin a few weeks ago and it looked delicious. I happen to love spaghetti anything (probably from my Italian background!) so I figured why not give it a try! It doesn’t hurt that it’s skinny either – although it didn’t taste it at all!

CAM00485First things first, is to cut the squash in half, gut it, and place it face downward in water. Then cook for an hour at 350. Once the squash is cooked, you should flip it over and it should look like it does above!

During the last 10 minutes that the squash was cooking, I began on the sauce. First you melt butter in a pan on medium heat, then add chopped garlic and saute for a little.  Then add the flower and once that’s mixed, add milk and whisk until the sauce is thick. Finally, you add the cheese and stir until it melts into the sauce.

CAM00487The sauce should be thick and creamy – and should smell delicious! I was making a lot of spaghetti squash so I doubled the recipe for the sauce and ended up using half fat free milk and half almond milk (since that was all that we had in the fridge) and I didn’t notice a difference at all.

CAM00488Once the squash is done, you can either prepare it the way the recipe suggests, or what I did was scrape out the “spaghetti” and then add the sauce and serve like so:

CAM00490 CAM00491 CAM00492I loved this! It was creamy, tasty, and perfectly filling! It tasted exactly like spaghetti alfredo – with a hint of squash of course! There was very minimal effort needed to complete this recipe and I could see this easily being something that I make again, especially once winter and fall come back around!

RATING:

Time Suggested: 1 hour 1o minutes

Time Actual: 1 hour 10 minutes

Ease/Difficulty: Easy-Medium

Monetary Value:1 star

Taste:  5 stars

Original Recipe: http://www.thecomfortofcooking.com/2013/03/skinny-spaghetti-squash-alfredo.html

Leave a Reply

